2017 U.S. Women’s Open

Considered the world’s premier championship for women in golf, the U.S. Women’s Open is one of 13 national championships conducted annually by the United States Golf Association (USGA). In 2017, the championship returns to New Jersey for the first time in 30 years and will be contested at Trump National Golf Club in Bedminster July 13-16.

First conducted in 1946, the U.S. Women’s Open was added to the USGA’s roster of championships in 1953, 58 years after the first U.S. Women’s Amateur. The reason for the USGA’s relatively late assumption of the Women’s Open is simple: women’s professional golf is fairly new.

The LPGA ran the Women’s Open for four years, but in 1953 asked the USGA to conduct the championship.

Conducted by the USGA ever since, the Women’s Open is the oldest championship open to women professionals and amateurs.

For more information on the U.S. Women’s Open or to purchase tickets, visit usga.org/womensopen.